Out of Focus

Fiene Scharp

October 11 - November 15, 2014

Galerie Trois Points is pleased to welcome Berlin-based artist Fiene Scharp for her fist exhibition in Canada. Out of Focus will be presented from October 11 to November 15, featuring delicate drawings and paper cuts, pursuing her explorations of the multiple possibilities of the grid – a recurrent motif that has shaped her work in the recent years.

The pieces presented in Out of Focus show a complex geometry of composition, a precise and meticulous drawing technique tinted by weaving and paper cutting. Formally, the subtle structure of the works suggests an endless and automatic repetition that rapidly reveals a long and time-consuming execution rhythm. Up close, the works concede a dimension of a different nature ; the presence of organic elements such as hair, graphite, ink or paper makes tangible the desire of the artist to appeal to the sense of touch.

In choosing these natural materials, Fiene Scharp blurs the boundaries between the drawing and the actual object; midway between the flatness of the surface and the three-dimensionality of the organic element, her works crystallize the tension between the manual and mechanical gesture, between the clinical aspect of the grid and the individuality of the organic matter.

Fiene Scharp lives and works in Berlin. She holds a Masters degree in education in conjunction with the Berlin University of the Arts (UdK) and the Humboldt University of Berlin (HU) and a BFA from the same institution (UdK). In 2012, she received the Meisterschülerpreis, awarded by the President of the Berlin University of the Arts. Represented by 401 Contemporary in Berlin, her work is featured in many private and public collections, including those of the Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Kupferstichkabinett der Museenzu Berlin Staatlichen (Berlin), Wellington Collection (Boston), Collection Bergmeier (Halle-Saale) and Samming Krischanitz (Vienna).

Press release

 


Exhibition Press

  • Marine Van Hoof, Elmyna Bouchard et Fiene Scharp à la Galerie Trois Points, Vie des Arts, 2014. 11. 03.. Lien web | PDF

Out of Focus

Fiene Scharp

11 octobre - 15 novembre 2014

La Galerie Trois Points est heureuse de présenter pour la toute première fois au Canada le travail de l’artiste berlinoise Fiene Scharp dans le cadre d’une exposition solo intitulée Out of Focus, du 11 octobre au 15 novembre prochain. Pour l’occasion, l’artiste présentera dans la seconde salle de la galerie une série de papiers magnifiquement découpés qui poursuivent ses recherches sur la notion de grille.

Out of Focus présente des œuvres délicates où la géométrie des compositions dévoile une technique précise et méticuleuse du dessin, du tissage et de la découpe. L’aspect formel des œuvres, très subtilement structuré, suggère un travail répétitif et mécanique qui trahit rapidement un rythme de création très long et rigoureux. De près, les œuvres se dévoilent toutefois dans une dimension d’une toute autre nature ; la présence d’éléments organiques comme le cheveu, le graphite, l’encre ou le papier rend tangible le désir de l’artiste de faire appel au sens tactile.

En préconisant ces matières naturelles, Fiene Scharp rend floues les limites entre le dessin et l’objet; à mi-chemin entre la planéité du support et la tridimensionnalité de la matière, ses œuvres cristallisent une tension assumée entre le geste manuel et mécanique, entre la frigidité de la grille et l’individualité propre à la matière organique.

Fiene Scharp vit et travaille à Berlin. Détentrice d’une maîtrise en enseignement complétée conjointement à la Berlin University of the Arts (UdK) et à la Humboldt-Universität de Berlin (HU), l’artiste réalisé son baccalauréat en arts au sein de la même institution (UdK). L’artiste a reçu la bourse Meisterschülerpreis, qui lui a été attribué par le président de la Berlin University of the Arts en 2012. L’artiste est représentée par la 401 Contemporary à Berlin. Ses œuvres font partie de plusieurs collections privées et publiques, notamment celles de la Kunstmuseum Stuttgart, Kupferstichkabinett der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin (Berlin), Collection Wellington (Boston), Collection Bergmeier (Halle-sur-Saale) et la Samming Krischanitz (Vienne).

Communiqué de presse


Presse de l'exposition

  • Marine Van Hoof, Elmyna Bouchard et Fiene Scharp à la Galerie Trois Points, Vie des Arts, 2014. 11. 03.. Lien web | PDF